Posted by John on Sunday, April 16, 2006 at 7:20 PM
[Remove] [Reply to this]

Yes
Category: Music

I checked out their five-CD set, “In a Word,” from the Morse Institute Library in Natick. Still can’t say I like this band. How can I put it? I just feel like there’s no “there” there. When I listen to, say, Buddy Guy singing, I can imagine sitting down and talking to him over a burger and fries.

When I listen to Chris Squire, I just imagine some weird dude sitting cross-legged on a cloud with his eyes closed. He doesn’t eat. He gets all the nutriment he needs simply through the power of his mind. He can fly. He can see into the future. He can be anywhere he wants to instantly, and he can disappear just as quickly.

There were a lot of bands doing stuff similar to Yes back in the late 60s/early 70s. Colosseum and Gentle Giant come to mind. I can see those guys doing things like washing their clothes, cooking breakfast and going to open houses on Sunday morning. Not Yes. They are gods. They are immortal and infallible. You get the idea.

Currently listening:
Roundabout: Best of Yes Live
By Yes
Release date: By 05 August, 2003

9:22 AM – 3 Comments – 2 Kudos – Add Comment – Edit – Remove

Thursday, April 06, 2006

Captain 20
Category: Music

Captain 20 (who looks and sounds amazingly like me) did a rousing open mic last night at the Sit-n-Bull for an audience of, oh, say, 10 to 15 folks. Highlights included the end of the first song, “Girl from Ipanema,” when I hit the mic with my guitar, and the beginning of the second song, “Ever Fallen in Love . . .”, when I almost forgot to take off the capo (“Who put that capo there?!”).

Despite all that, Buffy asked for encore, so I did “Echo Beach.” Then everybody else did an encore (hee hee).

Likely songs for the Captain’s next appearance: “Satanic Disco Machine,” “Wasn’t That a Day.” Unless you’ve heard of the bands Weatherhead and Under the Sun, you’ve probably never heard those songs.

3:34 PM – 0 Comments – 0 Kudos – Add Comment – Edit – Remove

Monday, April 03, 2006

The Shit-tar

I will probably buy more guitars some day. I won’t earn the money for it by playing music, that’s for damn sure. I will probably buy a bass. I will probably buy more drum equipment, perhaps a new cymbal, or new heads, at least. But one of these days I am going to make my own damn guitar. Prices for guitars are outrageous. There’s no way they can cost to make what the dealers charge. My first homemade guitar will be a piece of crap, and I will call it the Shit-tar. After that, I will refine my techniques to the point that my instruments will surpass those of Fender, Gibson, Gretsch, Taylor, Martin, Rickenbacker, ESP, PRS, Hamer and all of the custom shops out there, and people will beat a path to my door, and I’ll charge, like, 10 percent above cost, and everybody will like me and I’ll win a Nobel Prize or something. Yeah, that’ll show ’em!

Currently listening:
Garôta de Ipanema
By Various Artists
Release date: By 28 June, 2000

New story
Current mood: bitchy

Currently listening:
Mr. Fantasy
By Traffic
Release date: By 29 August, 2000

