Published this post a couple months ago. Had to take all my old posts down to strip out Dewey Decimal numbers. Now I’m putting them all back up, including this up.

Just got a note from John Stabb this morning that Sean Finnegan, the drummer for the early 1980s hardcore punk rock band Void, from Columbia, Md., died last week of an apparent heart attack. Now I realize — too late, of course — that all the shit I used to think about them (their unprofessional behavior, their drinking) really doesn’t mean shit; they were there, I was there, I should have just enjoyed those precious few moments while I had the privilege of living through them. Wish I could’ve been a nicer guy, not such a butthead, snob, creep, asshole, etc., blah, blah, blah . . . . Shoulda, coulda, woulda.

There are, of course, a hell of a lot of Web postings on Finnegan’s death. Here’s the one from Pitchfork Media:

Sean Finnegan, drummer from Washington, D.C.-area hardcore band Void, passed away Wednesday, January 30 of an apparent heart attack, according to a press release. One of the first acts associated with Dischord Records, Void appeared on the label’s 1982 Flex Your Head compilation. They made their proper debut with a 1982 LP split with fellow D.C. locals Faith.

Void parted ways in 1983. At the time of his death, Finnegan was working on the HBO television show “The Wire”. He was 43 years old.

I remember hearing Void’s “Who Are You, Why Am I Here?” in someone’s dorm at Maryland back in 82 or 83 and thinking that was one of the coolest things I’d ever heard. Got the same feeling when I heard “Get Out of My Way” on the Bouncing Babies compilation. Even then, I knew that what was going on in the underground music scene in D.C. and elsewhere was pretty unique and not likely to be repeated. We just bought the American Hardcore DVD, which said pretty much the same thing.

Sean and a lot of other people helped make those times as interesting as they were. I’ve tried and tried to recapture that feeling, and it’s never worked.

