I left my computer on the other day, with a Word file open, and my cat Otto typed out the following message while I was off doing something else:

;lklkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk
llllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll
llllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll
llllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll
lllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll
llllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll
lllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll
llllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllkiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiolllll
llllllllllllllllllllllll//////////////////////////////
///////???????????????????????????????????
??????????????????????????????????????
???????????????????????????????????????
??????????????????????????????????????????
??????????????????????????????????????
????????????????????????????????????????
????lllllll;;;;;;;’;/ 7

I had to clean up some of the spelling and grammar, but otherwise it’s pretty much exactly as I found it.

The questioning tone at the end is something new. I wish I had saved some of Otto’s earlier work. This shows such tremendous growth from those first, rather furtive attempts at self-expression that I really feel as if I’m a kind of midwife at the birth of an important new voice in the . . . oh, shit, he’s clawing the new chair.

(Actually, he didn’t type it; he simply fell asleep on the keyboard. My wife said the alert sound was going continuously for about a half-hour. My cat is 16 years old and pretty much stone deaf.)

