364 Crime

Just found out this morning that a co-worker was beaten and stabbed near his home on the South Side a few days ago. I know people get shot and stabbed all the time in Chicago, but this hit home. The attackers’ M.O. sounded a lot like that of the motherfuckers who beat my friend John Stabb to within a millimeter of his life, just violence for its own sake. Yesterday, I read a reward notice in the window of a restaurant near my house about a young guy who was murdered late last month after hailing a cab at Grand and Wolcott, plugged three times for no apparent reason (not that there can be a good one).

I had a lot more to say, but, really, I would rather just end this right now by saying that my thoughts are with my fellow dogwalker, and all the other victims of violence out there.

